Windows SP2

This forum is for general tittle-tattle.
Yam Boy
Supreme Member

Windows SP2

Post by Yam Boy »

anyone using this yet???

1st impressions???

firewall seems complete rubbish...

never even prompted me when using Javascript.... just refused access

and then it lets other programs access the net automatically....

quite surprised Microshit release something so flawed

(although not officially released - i think)

after the install i then read that it's not compatible with around 200 programs.. microsoft programs included :D

Yam Boy
Chain
< ADMIN >

Post by Chain »

I have been using it for 2 months now.. Hmm
I have a mixed feeling on it too.. One thing that is good is the popup blocker built in, as for the firewall I wouldn't trust a software one with anything these days so it's disabled.

;)

And yes lots of sites now do not work, because IE has fits every 5 mins.
Mobious
Supreme Member

Post by Mobious »

Been using it for around 2 weeks now and the first thing I did was turn off the firewall, I will let my router handle that. There are a number of major security flaws in it though so expect the next lof of updates to fix the updates to fix the updates etc etc
Chain
< ADMIN >

Post by Chain »

Anyone else had problems getting any media player codecs to install?
Ever since I have installed it I have been unable to install DivX codecs so I'm stuffed with video play back.. I may well hae to re-install after finding this out :(
Stelf
Supreme Member

Post by Stelf »

I had tried Beta RC1, its not bad, it changes alot of the system files, I never really came to a strong conclusion on it though, it screwed up my windows installation once, so I stopped using it. (kinda expected it would since beta, and a complete overhaul of the systme files, so np)

But after getting home last night it forcefully installed itself, hopefully the same issue doesn't happen again.
Yam Boy
Supreme Member

Post by Yam Boy »